Maximum number of VMs per Proxmox server?

voidindigo

Sep 18, 2018
Sorry if this is a repeat or in the FAQ somewhere, but I'm very new to Proxmox and I couldn't find it.

Is there a max number of VMs I can configure on a Proxmox server? Our test environment will need 1000 VMs, probably ~200 VMs per server, with a cluster of 5 or 6 Proxmox servers.

Is that a viable configuration (assuming we have the hardware to handle it, of course)?

Thank you, and thank you for some great software!
-
Scott

Is there a max number of VMs I can configure on a Proxmox server? Our test environment will need 1000 VMs, probably ~200 VMs per server, with a cluster of 5 or 6 Proxmox servers.

Is that a viable configuration (assuming we have the hardware to handle it, of course)?

Yes, should be no problem. The only restriction regarding VM counts are two:
* The real time replicated filesystem has a maximal size of 32 MB, currently, and a normal config (no snapshots) has about 200 to 300 bytes, so that leaves a theoretical limit of ~100.000 VM configs, (there are a few other files so your mileage may vary, but that is roughly the order of magnitude you could get). If you use a lot of VM/CT snapshots the config files get bigger (roughly multiply base size with number of snapshots).
* The HA manager is currently able to manage about 3000 services concurrently (no hard limit, but we have the status of all services in one file, which max size is capped at 512KB)

So 1000 VMs should really not be a problem. In fact, I know production setups handling school websites which has >1500 CT on two PVE nodes (plus one quorum node).