Delay Startup of Storage Pool

Nick Coons

Oct 13, 2018
I'm new to Proxmox (have been using vanilla KVM for years). I'm running 5.2-9 on Debian 9.5, and am using a directory storage pool.

The directory is a LizardFS-mounted file system (same setup as I'm using currently in another cluster with KVM). I noticed that when the storage pool starts, if it sees that the directory is empty, it creates a directory structure. This directory structure creation gets in the way of me mounting my LizardFS at the designated mount point. What I'm having to do is rm -rf (mountpoint)/*, and then very quickly (in less than about two seconds) mount my LizardFS file system. If I don't do this quickly, Proxmox recreates the structure that I just deleted.

I'm hoping for assistance with one of the following solutions:

• Is it possible to make Proxmox look for a condition (like the presence of something at the directory location) before starting the storage pool? I could put an empty dot file (like ".ready") on the filesystem, which would then only be present when it's mounted, and Proxmox would require that file to be present before starting the storage pool.
  • Is it possible to change the order in which this startup happens? This way, I can make sure my LizardFS is mounted first, then have the storage pool start. I'm not familiar with which service this is, though I'm sure there's something that can be done in systemd to accomplish this.
  • Or, is there something stupid simple that I'm missing as a Proxmox noob?

you can add 'is_mountpoint 1' to the storage in /etc/pve/storage.cfg
this tells pve that it is a mountpoint and does not try to create a directory if it is not mounted

you can add 'is_mountpoint 1' to the storage in /etc/pve/storage.cfg
this tells pve that it is a mountpoint and does not try to create a directory if it is not mounted