Remote viewer

Joseph Chrzempiec

Jun 9, 2016
Hello i know this been asked so many times. But Sense I'm still a noob to proxmox still. I'm trying to do remote viewer. So i can remote in when I'm not home at my desktop. I just want to remote into the vm only not the whole console. Can someone please help me out? Thank you

Joseph

Are you trying to remote into Windows VM? Then Microsoft Remote Desktop works excellent.

Hello symmcom. I have 2 linux vm one is ubuntu and one is centos. the centos i let my friend use i would like to be able to set him up so he can remote in and restart or view it anything really he needs to do. on mine i would like to do the same thing. But i think later on i will set some stuff up as well for family and friends.

Hello Joseph,

have you considered just to set-up a vnc-server on each box and protect the access to the vnc-servers by the proxmox firewall?

With best regards,

Andreas

Hello Joseph,

have you considered just to set-up a vnc-server on each box and protect the access to the vnc-servers by the proxmox firewall?

With best regards,

Andreas

Hello Paderepiktet actually no i haven't that is a idea there. Problem is one of them there is no desktop it s a server the ubuntu has a desktop so that would be perfect. But that is a great idea thank you.

Hello Joseph, if the box is just a head-less server what is the benefit of a graphical remote viewer? Why do you not use simple ssh via for example putty (for Windows) or the normal ssh client (for Linux)? With best regards, Andreas

Hello Joseph, if the box is just a head-less server what is the benefit of a graphical remote viewer? Why do you not use simple ssh via for example putty (for Windows) or the normal ssh client (for Linux)? With best regards, Andreas

For the desktop one yes the remote desktop is needed but for the server one can not do didn't even think about ssh remotely only was using it locally.