Forensics - Obtaining Disk and Memory Images

Suicharcon73

Mar 29, 2024
The TL;DR
I'd apperciate any comments on the below notes for capturing forensic data. I've highlighted a few specific questions, but any other notes, comments, corrections, or insight would be welcome.

Background
I work in the digital forensics field and, given Proxmox's recent jump in popularity, am attempting to find the easiest and most forensically sound method of obtaining the disk and memory for a system. In some ways this can be fairly straight forward and I have found various ways to get both. However, there can also be a lot of nuance to capture these correctly. For instance, in ESXi, you want to snapshot a system first to grab memory and -not- suspend it, as suspending the VM will break network connections that could be forensically relevant. You also need to grab both the VMEM file and the VMSN file from the same snapshot. So some methods work, but won't give you all the data. I don't know if that's the case here as I'm not nearly as framiliar with Proxmox and there's less of this kind of documentation. So I wanted to provide what I've found so far and see if the community add anything to it. Especially regarding something that might look correct, but could result in the loss of forensic data. I'd also be interested in any other alternatives, even if they seem silly or inconvenient. When an environment is completely broken by ransomware, sometimes it helps to know a really odd way to do something. I'm also particularly interested in anything from my notes/lab that doesn't match what would be in an enterprise production environment.

Memory
  • Memory can be extracted from both running and paused systems on the command line using the following steps:
    • "qm monitor [ID]" e.g. qm monitor 101
    • "dump-guest-memory -d /tmp/[dumpname].mem" e.g. dump-guest-memory -d /tmp/101-running.mem
      • "help dump-guest-memory" to get options, "quit" to exit