ZFS mirrored boot drive and memory usage

GTruck

Dec 6, 2021
I'm kind of new to Proxmox. I have been playing with it on and off for the last year or so. What I was hoping to eventually do, was to virtualize my existing TrueNAS file server and my PiHole DHCP/DNS server and ad blocker.

TrueNAS is running on a ASUS server motherboard with a XEON E-2236 CPU, 64GB of ECC memory, 2 x 232GB NVMe sticks in a RAIDZ1 configuration for boot and 4 x 4TB Ironwolf drives in a RAIDZ2 configuration for data.

The PiHole is running on a Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+.

What I have tried to do is to reconfigure my server to run Proxmox, by replacing the two 232GB NVMe sticks with two 1TB NVMe sticks. I then installed Proxmox VE 8.1-2. By the way, I tried using Proxmox VE 8.2-1, but it would not install on my server. Anyway, 8.1-2 installed so I configured it to run off my 2 1TB NVMe drives configured as a ZFS RAIDZ1 (Mirror). Everything went well.

Once up and running, I upgraded Proxmox to 8.2-1 and then created and configured my two VMs; one for TrueNAS Scale 24.04.1.1 using disk passthru for the 4 x 4TB drives, and one for Debian 12.5 for the PiHole.

I then ran my server this way for the past three weeks, tweaking things here and there, but mostly happy with the way things were running.

Then I noticed that although i had allocated only 4 CPUs and 16GB of memory for the TrueNAS VM and 2 CPUs and 2GB of memory for the PiHole, when I looked at the memory usage under the Proxmox server summary page, I saw that almost all of my 64GB was showing as being in use. That worried me a little as I wanted to create a couple of new VMs for some other purposes (the whole reason for going to Proxmox).

I knew from previous experience that ZFS uses a lot of memory and in my TrueNAS VM all 16GB of memory was showing as being used. So what I was wondering was if my small ZFS boot pool was consuming all the memory that wasn't being used. And if that is the case, should I not use ZFS for my boot pool.