Where do I learn this?

Aug 7, 2024
New here, just set up my first proxmox yesterday and got a few LXCs running. I'm a former programmer so I understand some of the concepts, but for example I don't "speak" networking or VMs. I don't like just following guides and pasting in shell commands that I don't fully understands, even though they give me the results I want. Some things I want to do is to be able to access web services in LXCs by hostname instead of ip locally, and through my domain name as subdomains.

Where does one start with learning these basic concepts for running a proxmox server and actually understanding it in detail? I don't want to "pick this up as I go", because that kind of self taught knowledge always leaves a lot of gaps and bad practices.

What are you running for a network? I would normally set all my VMs and CTs to DHCP, and handle all of the networking related tasks in pfSense, my firewall/router software. I would do that through DHCP reservations in pfSense. Also within pfSense, I have a local DNS resolver that resolves all of my local devices in my domain. It doesn't matter if you use pfSense or a different/competing product. I am just pointing out that for most people this is not handled in the server itself.

What are you running for a network? I would normally set all my VMs and CTs to DHCP, and handle all of the networking related tasks in pfSense, my firewall/router software. I would do that through DHCP reservations in pfSense. Also within pfSense, I have a local DNS resolver that resolves all of my local devices in my domain. It doesn't matter if you use pfSense or a different/competing product. I am just pointing out that for most people this is not handled in the server itself.
Thanks for the reply, do you run pfSense in a VM on Proxmox?

Thanks for the reply, do you run pfSense in a VM on Proxmox?