VMs on a separate network.

silentstorm161

Jul 18, 2022
I’m new to networking and was hoping someone could help.
I have a HP ProDesk G5 which I have installed Proxmox on and have my Plex running on one VM and Qbittorrent running on another. What I am wanting is Qbittorrent VM on a separate network from the rest of my home. With this in mind I purchased a NIC and a switch (TP-Link: TL-SG1024DE) and plugged the original NIC into a port on the switch connected to my home network and then the second NIC into a port on the switch I created as vlan2 for ports 13 and 14 with port 13 tagged and 14 untagged.
On the Proxmox I than created a new Linux Bridge named vmbr1 with the “port/slaves” as enp3s0, at first I tried putting in the CIDR and Gateway but due to vmbr0 it would not allow me to put in the gateway so left both blank. I have been using a test VM (windows 10) to get it to work but I get no internet. It shows up in Windows 10 as “connect without internet”, I also tried setting the IP and gateway in Windows 10 itself but no luck. I have been doing some reading and some guides recommending installing Pfsense but I thought this was a firewall so wouldn’t help with getting internet to a VM.
With the setup I have in mind, I am wanting to still access Proxmox GUI on my home network and the Plex VM but the VM for qbitorrent on its own network.

Last edited:
It's quite possible to run multiple networks for VM's and containers, you may not have even needed to buy a new NIC and VLAN capable switch but then it does mean that you have the capability some physical and well as logical network isolation.

If your home network is say - 192.168.100.0/24, and the isolated network is 172.16.100.0/24

Code:
auto en0
iface en0 inet manual

auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
        address 192.168.100.100/24
        gateway 192.168.100.1
        bridge-ports en0
        bridge-stp off
        bridge-fd 0

auto vmbr1
iface vmbr1 inet static
        address 172.16.100.100/24