VM in RamDisk

Rip

Sep 27, 2021
Hello,

I just joined the forums, and I am a noob, please be gentle ;)

I’ve been searching but can’t find a tutorial on how to create a ramdisk on the host and have proxmox use it for guest installs. I’ve found references saying this can be done. But I also am trying to learn more, about its limitations and how to go about it

Can someone point me to some references?

What happens on reboot of the vm or host? Because I assume that the VM storage is ram that the VM is lost, are there and scripts to backup the vm and then restore it on host/vm reboot?

Thank you
Rip

As far as I know PVE has no support for VMs on RAM disks. But PVE is based on Debian, so if you find a way to use RAM disks on Debian and use that as a directory storage that may work. But wouldn't it be more useful to use a persistent VM storage and then create RAM disks inside the VM?

I was thinking for a vm’s guest os.

For example: pfsense, I would create a ramdisk in proxmox then create a pfsense vm to install on the ramdisk, backup the vm, and restore from backups on reboot.

Basically if you have enough ram one could have a completely ram based vm. The idea was thought up to avoid ssd wear in vms that are fairly write intensive and wouldn’t be rebooted often.

If you just want to reduce SSD wear, why not get some decent enterpise SSDs? My Intel S3700/S3710 for example got 30 times the BTW of a consumer drive. So thats 21125 TB TBW per 1TB of storage, which you get second hand for around 150€. I would bet that is cheaper than buying RAM.

Thank you

While the idea came about while thinking about ssds…I think the approach is a sound solution, now, I’m more or more curious to see if it’s been done or can be done. It seems fairly straight forward.

Where can a learn about scripting this?

Are there commands that can backup vms? Commands to restore and start vms? And how can you kick off a script on boot? Or reboot?

Thanks

Last edited: