SOLVED: Very strange network problem. Please help.

starob

Jun 24, 2024
Hi,
I have a very strange network issue which I cannot solve. I'm looking for help in this forum hoping somebody has any idea what the cause could be. I'm not a Proxmox expert nor a networking expert but I have some networking knowledge and Proxmox experience.

My problem is that I have a shell script running that pings a specified IP address and logs errors if something is wrong. I can run multiple instances of this script in the background to check multiple IP addresses. The script has 2 parameters: IP address and ping wait time. I run it with "nohup ./watch_ip.sh IP_ADDRESS WAIT_TIME &". So for example I run "nohup ./watch_ip.sh 192.168.1.1 1 &". So far so good.

Now the strange issue: When I run this script on my Proxmox 8.2.4 host with specific IP addresses (192.168.1.250, 192.168.1.204, 192.168.1.205) the log file fills up with errors. When I run the same script with the same IP addresses from a LXC container on the same host no errors are logged ! What ???
Furthermore when I use other IP addresses on the PM host (i.e. 192.168.1.1) then no error is logged. Strange, isn't it?

The problematic IP addresses belong to a Fritzbox 7490 with 2 IP cameras connected. But again running the script from a container is no problem, just from the PM host. Also running the same script on another host on the same network is OK.

Notes:
- I disabled PCIe power management with kernel parameter "pcie_port_pm=off". This didn't help to solve the issue but I still left it active.
- I changed the PM host LAN cable which didn't help.
- dmesg logs several errors that might be related but I don't understand them.

System infos below and attached:

PM Host HW: Beelink Mini PC, 12th Gen Intel Alder Lake-N100 Prozessor (bis zu 3.40GHz), EQ12 Office Mini Computer, 8GB DDR5 500GB SSD Mini Desktop PC, Dual 2.5G Ethernet/Dual HDMI/WiFi 6/WOL/Auto Power On

ethtool output:

root@pve:~# ethtool enp2s0
Settings for enp2s0: