VERY Low Budget HomeLab - Best Config?

Oneiros42

May 31, 2024
I'm relatively new to self hosting. I don't have alot of hardware to use, but I use what I can. I assume I could configure Proxmox better then I have it now, but don't know enough to know exactly what I would need to change. Any ideas or tips?

---

Hardware:
  • PVE - Lenovo Ideapad 110-15ISK
    • CPU: Intel Core i3-6100U @ 2.30GHz
    • RAM: DDR4 - 12GB
      • 4GB built-in + 8GB additional
    • HDD: 500GB 2.5" HDD
      • Swapped with OG 1TB w/ Win 10. Been needing to sort through the data
    • NIC: RTL810xE PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller 10/100
  • Win10 - Lenovo ThinkPad T420
    • CPU: Intel Core i5-2520M @ 3.20GHz
    • RAM: DDR3 - 4GB + additional slot
    • HDD: 320GB 2.5" HDD
    • NIC: 100/1000
  • Buffalo TS5200D NAS:
    • CPU: Intel Atom D2550 @ 1.86GHz
    • 2 x 3.5" HDD Bays
    • 2 x 1GB NICs
    • RAM: DDR3 - 4GB (Removable)
      • Currently using latest supported BuffaloOS (old).
      • Boots off USB. Ive gotten Debian 12 to run. Tried running Proxmox but ended up being very slow and could only support maybe 2 LXC's, no VM's would boot.
  • D-Link DGS-1100-08: Managed 8 port 100/1000 switch
  • D-Link DGS-2205: Unmanaged 5 port 100/1000 switch
  • 3.5" 2TB HDD (used in NAS)
  • External Desktop 2 bay 2.5"/3.5" SSD/HDD dock to USB 3.0 port
  • RPI 3B
---

CPU Comparison: HP-15 (Personal), ThinkPad T420 (Old), IdeaPad 110 (PVE), Buffalo NAS

https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/products/compare.html?productIds=217185,52229,88180,65470

---

Last edited:
You do not really ask anything. :) You are using 12GB RAM machine for PVE install, which is fine. If you have all that to test and spare around, you can put another PVE install on the T420. The NAS is fine for especially backups as it is. The RPI should be able to run a Q device in case you wanted to experiment with a 2 node setup. The managed switch presumably is already between the NAS and the Lenovos.