Unable to access the GUI after the fresh installation.

Victor_Zing

Sep 18, 2023
Hello Everyone, Good day!

I am new to Proxmox, installing it for the first time, successfully completed the installation on the DELL R710 server, apparently I am unable to access the GUI from my desktop. My Proxmox server is connected to my desktop via direct LAN cable (no router/switch in place).

Promox host file record entry by running the command - nano /etc/hosts/

127.0.0.1Localhost.localdomain
10.1.0.111Promox FQDN

Proxmox server network entries by running the command - nano etc/network/interfaces

Address 10.1.0.111/24
Gateway10.1.0.1

1695051955854.png
My desktop (local LAN network details) -

Ipv4 address10.1.0.12
Subnet mask255.255.255.0
Default gateway10.1.0.1

From the desktop, when I try the ping I get the error "Request timed out"
From the desktop, when I access the Proxmox GUI, I get the error "This site can't be reached"

Please note, I used the https along with the port :8006 while accessing the URL.
I turned off the windows firewall on my desktop, I read in the threads that Proxmox firewall service bydefault allows the traffic 8006 & 22 on local network. However, to eliminate that cause, I have also ran the command pve-firewall stop stopped the promox firewall service.

If you want me to run any command please share me the full command, for the reason I am also new to Linux realm. Thank you in advance.

What is the output of ip a (to check the connection)? What is the IP address of the desktop computer and your router (to check the local network)?

thank you for your super fast help.

As mentioned I don't have a router, the Proxmox server is directly connected to a standalone desktop via LAN cable.
Dektop IP (10.1.0.12 & gateway: 10.1.0.1)

output of ip a

eno1 --> this is my interface, shows state DOWN :-( - how do I fix this!!

lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000