Storage Configuration Help

Myk Robinson

Dec 8, 2016
Rookie question ahead:

I have never heard of ProxMox before a few days ago. I had a blade that was used as a Replibit vault previously, figured i'd give this a try. I installed the OS without issue. I have plenty of storage space on the server, but am missing something with regards to configuring.

I did NOT setup a RAID before installing, as Replibit used ZFS and the drives were configured as JBOD. At this stage, do I need to start over and create a RAID in order to utilize the space? Or what can I do to all drive sdb - sdh to be used for VMs, ISO storage, etc?

AMjaufR.png

As far as hypervisors go, I have some experience with ESXi and Hyper-V, but in those scenarios, your drives must be configured first.

Any pointers or links to the appropriate section of the manual would be helpful.

Thanks

I installed Proxmox with only the main SSD installed then add 2 2TB drives after and added them into the system using lvm and ext4 and then added them into PVE with directory storage type under Data centre -> Storage

If you are familiar with ZFS, why not use ZFS? The default Proxmox installation includes all zfs tools.
I can't say I am intimately acquianted with it. We use it with all our Replibit appliances but there is a GUI for setting up the storage array. I can create the array in the shell, but am just making sure I am not missing a slightly more obvious method through the GUI to define the storage pool I want for VMs. During installation, it asked where I wanted to install ProxMox, and I selected /dev/sda, assuming that later down the road, I would be able to create a separate volume for the VMs.

I'll get it figured out, guess I need to digest this manual a bit, which admittedly I have not read ;) Just playing with it at the moment to see what it's all about.