SSH and web GUI not working

Labbetus

Apr 6, 2021
Hi,

I'm a Linux newbie so please bear with me... :)

I'm running a local Proxmox server where all config is pretty much standard out of the box, and a few days ago i noticed both web gui and ssh had stopped working.

What I've noticed so far:
- I'm not able to SSH from my PC to Proxmox (connection refused)
- I'm not able to open the Proxmos gui from my PC
- I'm able to ping both ways
- I'm able to connect to my Proxmox VM's and LXC's (both via ssh and gui)
- On the Prox server I'm able to ssh localhost.
- I'm able to ssh from a LXC to Proxmox
- I've ran apt update and apt upgrade on Prox
- I've tried turning off the Proxmox firewall.
- I do not see the failed ssh connection attempts in /var/log/auth.log

When trying to connect to Prox from my pc:
Code:
xxxg@plex:~$ ssh -vvv xxx@192.168.1.11
OpenSSH_7.6p1 Ubuntu-4ubuntu0.3, OpenSSL 1.0.2n  7 Dec 2017
debug1: Reading configuration data /etc/ssh/ssh_config
debug1: /etc/ssh/ssh_config line 19: Applying options for *
debug2: resolving "192.168.1.11" port 22
debug2: ssh_connect_direct: needpriv 0
debug1: Connecting to 192.168.1.11 [192.168.1.11] port 22.
debug1: connect to address 192.168.1.11 port 22: Connection refused
ssh: connect to host 192.168.1.11 port 22: Connection refused

Code:
sudo systemctl list-units --failed
0 loaded units listed. Pass --all to see loaded but inactive units, too.
To show all installed unit files use 'systemctl list-unit-files'.

Any ideas?

Did the host maybe reject the connection because of the OpenSSH version? Are you able to update it?

Hmm, I've done apt update && apt dist-upgrade on the server and apt update on the clients. I belive that should be good enough?

When i do systemctl status 'pve*' i get a failure on pvenetcommit.service but i can't tell if it's relevant:
Code:
pvenetcommit.service - Commit Proxmox VE network changes
   Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/pvenetcommit.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)