Setup Suggestions

HamsDa

Dec 27, 2020
Hello dear Proxmox Community and merry Christmas to everyone!

I am fairly new to Proxmox, only experimented with it inside another Hypervisor.
I got myself an Intel NUC10i7 (6 cores + hyperthreading, 64 GB RAM and 2x 2TB SSD [1x SATA, 1x M.2]), which I want to be a Proxmox VE Hypervisor.

I hope I can count on some more experienced Proxmox Users for some tipps and tricks regarding a good Proxmox Setup.

What I want to achieve with Proxmox
  • Firewall-VM (pfSense)
  • Various Ubuntu VMs / Docker Containers for various tasks
  • Backup Routine (I'm thinking Proxmox Backup Server VM inside Proxmox with an external Hard Drive mounted in the VM)
  • Possibly nested HyperVisor (mainly ESXi, a little Hyper-V maybe, both for trying out stuff [no production use])
But I do have a few questions about how to start this the right way, as I do not really want to do all of this again in a month just because I learned a better way of doing it :)

File Systems
Is ZFS a wise decision for PVE root filesystem or are there any known ramifications that I am not aware of?
I like the idea of having RAID-Controller, Logical Volume Manager and Filesystem combined.
Also, ZFS can send snapshots to other ZFS storage units, so if I take my USB HDD, mount it inside Proxmox Backup Server and make it a ZFS Pool, Backups should be fast and non-disruptive, right?

Proxmox Backup Server
I recently noticed PBS going from Beta to Stable and I just can't wait to give it a shot.
Again, here comes the question about ZFS root filesystem, especially because of sending snapshots etc.

Is a file level restore with PBS possible or is it VM restore only?
I read in some thread via google a few months ago that this feature may be on the way.

Storage Units
As I have 2x 2TB SSDs, I'd like to combine these 2 into a single 4 TB Logical Volume.
Is this a good Idea or would it be better to separate Storage Units?