Separating boot drive from VM/LXC drive + SSD/ZFS questions

jaytee129

Jun 16, 2022
Thinking of running Proxmox OS on separate "budget" drives (2 mirrored using ZFS Raid 1) and use high end 2TB NVME PCI 4 S.2 SSD for all my VMs/LXC (2 mirrored with ZFS 1). The boot drives would also be the place for 'local' files, e.g. ISOs and backups that I would also copy to external NAS folder.

My understanding is that this helps in the following ways: Keeps all my high end drive space for VMs, and if boot drives fail or get corrupted I'll just need to restore a relatively small Veeam bare metal backup I would do (stored elsewhere than on boot drive). If VM drives fail I don't have to worry about OS, I just need to restore VMs from the backups I would have done to 'local' filesystem on boot drive. As I am relatively new to proxmox and haven't lived through any major failure or restore yet, would like to know if this would work / have the benefits I think it would.

Also, am reading stuff about ZFS being hard on SSD's, and certainly harder than if I used motherboard RAID (the other option I'm considering). Also read that ZFS perhaps does not support TRIM in proxmox (mixed messages on that). Also reading ZFS better than hardware RAID for several reasons, mostly notably around recovering from problems with h/w RAID due to proprietary implementations and even firmware differences in replacement h/w.

Is ZFS hard on SSD's? If so, would using cheap SSD's as boot drives cost me more in the the long run, i.e. I have to replace them every couple years or so? I haven't decided yet if budget drives will be HDD or SSD.

Does TRIM work or not with proxmox version of ZFS?