[SOLVED] Secondary IP unreachable

Stefix99

Aug 19, 2024
Hi, everyone
Newbie here, trying proxmox on a mini pc with 6x i226.
I created a vm with opnsense and configured pcie passthrough for the first five ethernet ports.
Everything works and proxmox web gui is reachable (through opnsense bridge of vmbr0).
Now I wanted to keep the last ethernet port for "management", so I can connect directly in case I screw up something.
I tried to give an IP to the network device but the port doesn't turn on when connected (with the same cable).
If i force it by checking the autostart flag, it turns on the leds but I can't ping, ssh or navigate to the web gui using the other ip.
What am I doing wrong?
Some screenshots (with autostart disabled):
Screenshot 2024-08-22 220640.png
Screenshot 2024-08-22 221309.png

Last edited:
And you are trying to reach it from an laptop/pc configured in the 192.168.0.X/24 range (so not from an other IP that you want to translate between the two), possibly even wired directly into the enp7s0 (so no switch or anything in-between)?
Alternatively from proxmox, can you ping out to something else in the 192.168.0.X/24 range? And if so, if you traceroute this same IP, does it "go out" through the correct IP-range

Hi @sw-omit, thank you for your response
Yes, yesterday I tried with a direct ethernet cable in enp7s0, pc (win11) configured with static IP 192.168.0.100/24.
For some reason today it works, I didn't change anything proxmox side. Maybe I made an error with the static IP.
The only thing different I did today was disconnecting from wifi, but it's in another ip range so it shouldn't have made a difference? (And now it works even when connected)
Also, if I understand correctly, when a network device doesn't have autostart and isn't inside a bridge, it won't turn on after a reboot even if a cable is plugged in. So I kept autostart enabled in enp7s0.

Last edited: