Running OSX, Windows 10, and Fedora on Lenovo Thinkpad - each with its own Desktop on the same notebook - looking for "How-to"

Bart-Smith

Dec 17, 2022
I am new to Proxmox but have some limited experience running Virtual Box.

My goal is to run OSX (High Sierra - required for a specific software), Fedora Desktop 37 (my daily driver), and Windows 10 -- all on the same Lenovo Thinkpad, including their respective desktop GUIs. I travel a lot and want to be able to have all this on only one machine.

VirtualBox was simply too slow.

My Thinkpad is a P1 Gen2 running a 12 core xeon processor, 64G ECC RAM, with 6 TB of SSD installed. It also has an NVidia Quadro T2000 GPU

I love the idea of having everything running as close to bare metal as possible, but having spent a few hours on Proxmox don't yet understand how to get any of the desktops running on the native display - it seems everything only works via a web browser (not ideal for my use case).

I have not found a guide to direct me through the process of getting this working and would very much appreciate any guidance toward getting this running. So far the best I've found is a couple of Youtube videos making claims of "a new way to build a hackintosh" and some vague references to running Windows (with local video) on Proxmox.

Very much hoping some kind soul can send me a guide for getting this working.

Thank you.

The nearest approach to reach your goals is probably: https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Developer_Workstations_with_Proxmox_VE_and_X11

I've tested a similar setup using Spice and put some VMs on seperate "Desktops" in fullscreen mode (in Sway on Wayland), reachable by a single "meta-1/2/3" keystroke. It works. But I am not really using it - for unrelated reasons.

Edit: Oh, and I did NOT use OSX or other strange Operating Systems...

Good luck.

Last edited:
My Thinkpad is a P1 Gen2 running a 12 core xeon processor, 64G ECC RAM, with 6 TB of SSD installed. It also has an NVidia Quadro T2000 GPU