Replace OMV as OS

SoulReign

Jul 24, 2022
Hello,

So, I build my own low budget test server at home to learn more about home networks, dockers etc. I thought OMV would be a good starting place as I wanted to use it as a local NAS and can create dockers using Portainer. So far this has been a fun learning experience but I want to move to Proxmox as it looks like a much better bare metal system and more efficient on resources.

I was wondering if there is a way to install Proxmox and move OMV into a container/VM. But here’s my problem, I used OMV to create a software Raid 6 on the storage drives. So, I’m guessing my options are to move everything from the Raid then wipe it completely starting from scratch or somehow move OMV without disrupting the Raid.

My hardware setup

i5 6500 4 cores
MB ITX (can't hardware Raid)
8gb DDR4
256gb M2 (OS+containers)
8x 2TB HDD (given to me)
650w

Last question, is it possible to use a 256gb SSD for caching to help speed Plex Buffering?

I’m an amateur starting out learning Linux and loving the process so far. Thanks for any help given. I’m really looking forward to moving to Proxmox.

Soul Reign

Hello,

So, I build my own low budget test server at home to learn more about home networks, dockers etc. I thought OMV would be a good starting place as I wanted to use it as a local NAS and can create dockers using Portainer. So far this has been a fun learning experience but I want to move to Proxmox as it looks like a much better bare metal system and more efficient on resources.

I was wondering if there is a way to install Proxmox and move OMV into a container/VM. But here’s my problem, I used OMV to create a software Raid 6 on the storage drives. So, I’m guessing my options are to move everything from the Raid then wipe it completely starting from scratch or somehow move OMV without disrupting the Raid.