PVE Backup vs PBS Backup

spetrillo

Feb 15, 2024
Hello all,

I am fairly new to the Proxmox world, so apologies for the newbie questions. I come from a long VMware career and trying to look at alternatives for my clients.

I have setup a PBS server and it is connected to my PVE server. Am I mistaken or can the PVE do backups of vms without PBS? It seems to be that way? If that is the case then is there functionality to move PVE created backups to the PBS, say for longer term storage? Is there anything I buy in using a PBS to backup my vms, instead of the PVE functionality?

My next question goes to the backup of the PVE and PBS itself. Obviously keeping your vms protected is important but so is the actual PVE and PBS servers. Can either backup itself or can the PBS backup both itself and the PVE?

Thanks,
Steve

Hello again. Cool, you got them connected.

"can the PVE do backups of vms without PBS?"
- Yes it can. PVE can backup directly to NAS or other storage without a PBS.

"is there functionality to move PVE created backups to the PBS"
- Not sure why you would want to do this. Make new backups via PBS. But if you really wanted to do this, you could rsync the old backups off your NAS onto the PBS datastore. But don't do that. Make new backups.

"Is there anything I buy in using a PBS to backup my vms"
- Not really. (A license? The license is actually pricey.) Maybe the hardware to run it on. PBS runs best on its own physical hardware, managing its own set of physical disks.

The difference between PVE and PBS backups can be a tad confusing at first. They look like they are the same thing in the PVE GUI.