[SOLVED] Proxmox shared drive between containers

toma3757

Jan 23, 2020
Hi!
I'm totally new in proxmox configuration.
Yesterday, i installed the newest proxmox to my home server. The main disk is a 256gb sdd. I have another disk for store media content.
I installed two container, one for plex and one for torrent(deluge), both are debians.

I would like to have access to the media disk from both container.

How should I do that? I have read a lot of threads about this problem but I don't know the correct solution.

I think I have two options at least.
Option 1:
Follow this article Add New phisycal Hard drive.. But my problem is that I have to define a disk size which i would like to mount to my container but I want to see the full drive from both containers. So I don't know how to do it.
Option 2:
Mount the media disk(/dev/sdb1) to the host, then mount it to the containers. In this case I had permission problems which i don't know how to solve.

Thanks for the replies.

Last edited:
Hi,

If for you "to see full drive" it means ReadOnly access, then you could use sshfs from both CT. If you want read-write from both CT on the same media you will need to make some kind of file-server, like nfs.

Good luck / Bafta.

Thanks, but how to do it? With the second option? How can I solve the permission problems?

Hi,

If for you "to see full drive" it means ReadOnly access, then you could use sshfs from both CT. If you want read-write from both CT on the same media you will need to make some kind of file-server, like nfs.

Good luck / Bafta.
Thank! I have read this option in other thread, but only when someone used vms not containers. How shold I do it? At the host, share the disk, then connect it from the containers?

You can do it even with CT.

Yes. You could do it like this.
Thanks for the answer.
So that means, I can share a disk with more than one containers without any problem.
But my question is how can I do this,which method is the correct, the second?

EDIT: