Proxmox installer dont see the USB RAID LUN that other installers do.

alfonsSF

Apr 2, 2021
Hi.
Fist of all , I am new in proxmox.

I try to install 6.3.1 in a proliant 380 gen10 server.

At this moment my problem is I had to reinstall and aply service pack. For that I had to install a temporary windows.
The unit for the OS is a USB RAID LUN (with SDcards).
The firs time i could intstall proxmox there, with no problems.
But now, proxmox cant't see the unit . Only a /dev/sdf (0MB. SPI Flash LUN) and /dev/sde (0MB. Log File LUN). The unit is not see.

I can install KDENeon, windows, and ESXi. All of them can be installed in the USB RAID LUN. But not proxmox.

Any suggestion ?

Thanks in advanced.

I don't have any experience with that kind of hardware. Did you change some BIOS settings in how they are presented to the system?

I want to give you some advice regarding the SD cards. Don't install PVE on SD cards of USB flash drives. PVE does use the OS disks a lot. For example the logs are written to the root file system. SD cards and USB flash drives usually are not meant for this kind of workload and will fail in a foreseeable time frame.

Well, Servers have those units because, at the begining of the project, the hypervisor was going to be ESXi.

I amb planning to mount all the folders whir are used for the vm in the RAID.
So I can backup the system (no VM material) with the Veeam linux agent with its recovery media iso in a bootable usb.
Do you think is a good Idea?

Otherwise I can install the PVE in a M2 drive (are cheap enought). with the same agent

Normally for ESX! and Truenas it's recommended a Flash usb drive (better if SD raid1).

I amb planning to mount all the folders whir are used for the vm in the RAID.
So I can backup the system (no VM material) with the Veeam linux agent with its recovery media iso in a bootable usb.
Do you think is a good Idea?

Otherwise I can install the PVE in a M2 drive (are cheap enought). with the same agent