[SOLVED] Proxmox fresh install on Huananzhi x99-QD4 motherboard & xeon 2670 CPU freezes at beginning

stajor

Sep 17, 2023
Hi everyone
I'm a real newbie in terms of proxmox/

I'm at my first install of proxmox on an x99 motherboard with Xeon E5 2670 CPU, 32GB RAM, 2 NVME, 1 hdd
Every component was tested under windows and it is working fine.

Now when I boot from USB stick with proxmox v. 8.0.2 installation program, it freezes after few seconds with multiple messages saying

[7.020937] clocksource: Switched to clocksource tsc loading drivers: nuidiafb ahci nume mac hid umi i2c_1801 chci_pci xhci_pci efi pstore pcspkr intel_cstate rapl aesni_intel sha512_ssse3 ghash_clnuIni_intel pol yual cinulni crc32 pc Inul crct10dif pclmul kun intel intel powerclamp x86_pkg_temp_thermal intel_rapl_common
[8.728430] nuidiafb: Device ID: 10de1287

Is it a known problem? Shall I boot with some specific parameter? (BTW how can I pass boot parameters to the kernel?)

Any hint will be very much appreciated

Thanks

Attachments

• WhatsApp Image 2023-09-17 at 18.00.39.jpg
    WhatsApp Image 2023-09-17 at 18.00.39.jpg
    71.5 KB · Views: 42
Hi,

[8.728430] nvidiafb: Device ID: 10de1287
Is there an Nvidia GPU installed in the system? These are always problematic due to the driver situation.

Anyway, in the bootloader, try instead selecting "Advanced Options" and the "Install Proxmox VE (Console Mode - nomodeset)" - this avoids loading any graphics drivers and thus you should be able to proceed with the installation.

I'm also trying to install ProxMox on an X99 board with a i7 CPU and attached RTX-3090.

My install stops at exact same place. However on my ProxMox install USB drive, I don't see an option for "Install Proxmox VE (Console Mode - nomodeset)"

All I see listed when I navigate to "Advanced Options" are:
  1. Install Proxmox VE (Graphical, debug mode)
  2. Install Proxmox VE (Terminal, UI, debug mode)
  3. Install Proxmox VE (Serial Console debug mode)
  4. Rescue Boot