Proxmox + CubeBackup (Self-hosted backup for Google Workspace and Microsoft 365)

Joshua_Reed

Feb 9, 2023
Hi there,

Complete newbie with Proxmox here.

I'd like to create something with Proxmox. It would be to backup our Google Workspace (Drives, Shared Drives, Gmail, Contacts, etc) using CubeBackup. Cubebackup make their product available on Docker. So that's a good start. It's also available on Linux.
https://www.cubebackup.com/en/download/google-workspace-backup

I was going to use Active Backup for Google Workspace on Synology, but CubeBackup seems clearly superior in features. Then I thought using CubeBackup Docker with OpenMediaVault. It just seems that using Btrfs/ZFS isn't that user friendly over there.

Then I remembered of Proxmox today! It must be the best way to do this.

I don't have the hardware yet. I don't have an unlimited budget but we'll purchase what's needed.

Here's what I'd need:
  • Proxmox and the VMs will be on a SSD.
  • The data of the backup wil be on a HDD.
    • I might use 2 HDDs in Mirror. But I'm not sure yet.
  • I'd like to have Snapshot Replication of the folder where the data of CubeBackup is stored.
    • Something like Synology does if possible. For example, on Synology, we can create Snapshots of any Folder. Then we specify when we want the snapshots taken (e.g. 6 times a day). We specify the retentions policy: e.g. Keep 7 daily snapshots, 5 weekly snapshots, 12 monthly, 5 yearly.
    • Then if something happens to the data, we can easily navigate into the snapshots (Using the File Manager (Similar to Windows Explorer)) to find a previous version of a file, for example. Or we can restore the whole folder to a previous version.
    • Synology uses Btrfs, but any other filesystem that basically does the same would be great for me (e.g. ZFS or else)
  • I'd like the data used for CubeBackup to be available to other VMs. For example, I'd like to sync the database to another computer using SyncThing.