[SOLVED] Proxmox 8.2.4 wont allow me to create a raid0 pool.

Avery

Aug 26, 2024
Let me start out by saying this is a home setup, nothing is going on this pool that I don't have saved elsewhere. So if we can skip all the you will loose everything bit that would be great. I have two new 20tb drives I shucked from WD external cases. However I will be adding two more drives as funds allow so I can create a raid0-1 pool later or raid 5? We shall see. I haven't messed with raid much in probably 10 years and Ive learned a lot has changes. I am a noob when it comes to stuff like this however. The reasoning for needing raid0 is speed, I have been running jellyfin on a pc for awhile and with having lots of devices my house we can exceed the read speed of one drive, and currently between movies,shows,family photos were pushing 17TB and growing. So I need speed and space.

So I tried to create this pool in the GUI and learned that the only way to do that is to use the cli.
So I went to the shell of my pve node and gave this command: (I'm just copy and pasting everything)

root@pve:~# # zpool create deadpool ata-WDC_WD200EDGZ-11B9PA0_2GGB88ZV ata-WDC_WD200EDGZ-11B9PA0_2HG07DVN
root@pve:~#
I get no errors or anything, it just ignores it. Ive also tried this
root@pve:~# # zpool create -f -o ashift=12 zpool /dev/sdb /dev/sdc
Ive also tried this
root@pve:~# # zpool create -f -o ashift=12 <deadpool> </dev/sdb> </dev/sdc>
When i run zpool status i only see this other pool

root@pve:~# zpool status
pool: pool
state: DEGRADED
status: One or more devices has experienced an error resulting in data
corruption. Applications may be affected.
action: Restore the file in question if possible. Otherwise restore the
entire pool from backup.
see: https://openzfs.github.io/openzfs-docs/msg/ZFS-8000-8A
config:

NAME STATE READ WRITE CKSUM
pool DEGRADED 0 0 0
ata-ST18000NM000J-2TV103_ZR5CQECK DEGRADED 0 0 32 too many errors

errors: 8 data errors, use '-v' for a list