Problem to configure network for guest with tagged and untagged vlan

gech

May 13, 2021
I have a physical opnsense firewall with 4 NICs. The NICs are used for WAN, DMZ, and 2 separate environments. The traffic of each NICs will again be separated into different VLANs. My switch assigns the untagged traffic for each NIC to a different VLAN. This works fine. I want now to setup a test environment that has the same setup virtually.

Hi I have setup a fresh proxmox 6.3 on a server with 2 NIC. One NIC is for productive servers and one for test systems. The proxmox is generally working. On my old server I have several guests that are connected to the production with tagged VLANs.

But I am not getting the guest for virtual opnsense server working. I am new to proxmox but I think that it should be possible I just do it wrong.

I have fresh setup new proxmox and some guests that have tagged NICs to the linux bridges vmbr1 (tests environment) and they can reach servers on the network using the new virtual FW. But these guests use the VLANs assigned directly to the NIC in the firewall. When I want to uses a VLAN managed by the firewall no connection is possible.
The bridge is vmbr1
The untagged traffic of the firewall is vlan_2010
the tagged traffic is vlan_2015

The configuration on the guest is
Net0 = virtio=[mac],bridge=vmbr1,tag=2010

As far I can see vmbr1 don't give any traffic for the vlan_2015 to the firewall.
I made vmbr1 vlan aware. But it still don't work.

I think I need to remove the tag 2010 from the guest NIC but how do I assign then the untagged traffic coming from the guest to vlan 2010?

Do I need to assign different bridges to the firewall? I have seen that there is a command for untagged vmbr. But I have seen that it was used for untagged traffic inbound to the proxmox server. And that is not what I need.

Thanks for any suggestions.

Last edited:
I hope the diagram and the explanations help.

net-devices.png