[SOLVED] Port 25 does not work on the node PMG

PSG

Nov 6, 2019
Germany
Good morning everyone,

I am not sure whether this post is correctly created under "Mail Gateway: HA Cluster". If not, please move it.

I'm still relatively new to using the PMG. I already have a PMG in productive use and it works fine. Now I have set up another PMG in parallel to use it as a cluster node for failover. Now I have the following problem: On the master port 25 and port 26 work as they should. Unfortunately only port 26 works on the node.

I have tested this as follows from a PC within the "internal" network:

1)
telnet Master_IP 25
--> 220 FQDN_Master ESMTP Proxmox

openssl s_client -connect Master_IP:25 -starttls smtp
--> The communication works and the available certificates are displayed.

2)
telnet Master_IP 26
--> 220 FQDN_Master ESMTP Proxmox

openssl s_client -connect Master_IP:26 -starttls smtp

3)
telnet Node_IP 25
--> The connection is established, but there is no response from the PMG. The Telnet window remains black.

openssl s_client -connect Node_IP:25 -starttls smtp
--> CONNECTED(0000011C).
More does not appear here !

4)
telnet Node_IP 26
--> 220 FQDN_Node ESMTP Proxmox

openssl s_client -connect Node_IP:25 -starttls smtp

Has anybody ever had this phenomenon and what shoud I do ?

Thanks for a few tips.

WHICH Mail Gateway Version do you use? We are using Mail Gateway 6.2-5
WHICH License type do you use? Community Subscription
WHICH Hardware do you run? VMware ESXi (HA) on multiple Servers / Datastore on a HA SAN storage

Cheers !
Toby

Last edited:
on a hunch - could you try to run:
* pmgconfig sync -restart 1
* reboot the node afterwards

then try the connection tests again
if this does not fix the issue - take a look at the logs: `journalctl -f` ( let it run while trying to connect with netcat/openssl)

I hope this helps!

Hi Stoiko,