Poor network performance on VM or misconfiguration?

nireos

Jun 26, 2024
First, before you respond with the whole "it is all software based, ect...", I understand that. So please read the entirety of my post before responding. I am truly trying to understand if I have misconfigured something or if this is just how Proxmox is.

I am considering moving from Hyper-V to Porxmox. I have no experience with Proxmox; but do have considerable experience with VMWare. I was hoping there would be enough similarity to make this easy. I decided to conduct an Apples to Apples comparison before making the switch.

Scenario:
I built a brand new Windows 2022 server on my current Hyper-V environment. Single vCPU, 8GB memory. Nothing fancy. No special services. Just a base server install.

I exported the VM and followed a guide I found online for importing it into Proxmox. Done. Easy.

Now, there is where I need help. If I run an internet speed test (yes I know these are not the best tests but I am trying to keep it simple without getting in to a lot of technical iperfs, or other network tests), the VM caps out at 200Mbps.

This same VM on Hyper-V hit 800Mbps.

If I add vCPU and/or cores to the VM, then I can get it to hit the 800Mbps.

So, I decided to try the same VM on VMWare. On VMWare it performs as expected (800 Mbps) with a single vCPU.

Processor Type - I set this to "Host" per an article I found here on the forum. This did help.
NIC Type - VirtIO

So my question(s)....

1. Is this normal expected behavior?
2. Do I have something misconfigured either in the Proxmox host or the VM?
3. Why dos Hyper-V and/or VMWare see better performance without adding vCPU?

That link worked; but I don't think that is the answer. That says I set the Multiqueue value = to the number of vCPUs. Increasing the number of vCPUs already fixes the performance issue.