Noob questions: Shrink VM disk, containers on VM

rapidwaters

Sep 30, 2020
I am trying something new and I am no computer engineer nor I have any CLI background until recently when I started tinkering. I just had an SMB file server using OMV until now. I started to look into some youtube videos and understood the benefits of virtualization and containerization. I got a used HP server at an affordable price.
First thing I did was install proxmox. I have 3 HDDs (465 G) plugged into the server and I did a ZFS (RAIDZ1) install. Allocated 32G to pve-root (local) and the remaining (around 900 G) to pve-data (local-zfs).

I created an OMV VM and used 32 G from local-zfs for the OS and almost the entire remaining space on local-zfs i.e., 850 G for OMV data storage. I mounted this virtual disk in the VM and then I realized I cannot containerize pfsense. Having said that, even if I could, there would be a bit of a learning curve on how to do that with an OMV VM. Anyway, now I need to create some space for the pfsense VM on my local-zfs (pve-data) disk. Is there a simple way to shrink my OMV virtual disk (scsi1) space from say 850 G to 750 G and then use the remaining 100 G for pfsense VM? I prefer to do this without having to re-install OMV and recreate/restore data in my Shares (currently sitting at 100 G which is backed up).

Are there any concerns with running docker on OMV VM in proxmox? I read some articles that suggested having a separate VM run docker or simply running it directly on proxmox. I prefer to not use proxmox for anything other than VMs. I did try to install docker on OMV VM using instructions from this video but I lost the OMV data disk upon restart (filesystem showed disk was missing). I tried looking for answers but I eventually had to reinstall OMV from scratch as I could neither mount it not schedule a job to automount it at reboot.