[SOLVED] Newbie questionning

ramirez22

Aug 25, 2024
France, Bourgueil
Hello.

First, sorry for my bad english, it's not my natural language.
I discover proxmod few time ago and really love it.
But I need some informations (in simple words please, I am a half century newbie geek ;))

Hardware:
  • 1 tiny PC (core i7, 16Go, 1 SSD 256Go) and I installed Proxmox with only one VM for home assistant (with some add-on, especialy Frigate). Some USB devices attached (TPU Coral for Frigate and Zigbee dongle). Call it Alpha.
  • 1 another tiny PC less powerfull (core i5, 8Go, 1 SSD 128Go) not used at this time. Call it Beta.
  • a NAS Asustor with RAID 5, 3 disks of 4 To.
Not possible for me to add another server : price, power ... It's for personnal project, with familly budget. I have no need of HA (it's only domotic).

Hope:
  • I want migrate my home assistant in Alpha to Beta, ideally without redo all the pairing and other setting. The reason is simple : Home Assistant no need a big CPU to run. The Zigbee dongle will be attached to this machine
  • I want to create a VM on Alpha to have a separate Frigate machine (I can do it myself, no need help for this point :)) because Frigate need more power and more space disk. The Coral TPU will be attached to this machine.
  • I want to make home assistant VM backup (on Beta now) to Alpha disk, and make Frigate VM backup to Beta disk.

Why this cross backup ?
  • Home assistant don't need a big partition size (30 Go is enought). So have a 128 Go SSD is a space wasteful. Same for Frigate.
  • To be able to quiclky start the VM on a server if the another crash (domotic is pretty cool, but without server, it's less usuable :D). So only have to restore the backup on the ather server and move usb devices.

Do you think it's possible ? And how ? With cluster ?

I try to made a cluster, but I have an error when I want to join with the machine cause already contain virtual guest. Cluster can only be done with clean config ?