New proxmox cluster, 3 nodes with ceph

diego555

Jan 6, 2022
Hello,
I'm a sysadmin of a small company and I'm looking to replace the current really OLD proxmox cluster (proxmox 4.3-9).

I would like to make a new 3 nodes cluster with ceph,
but I'm quite new to proxmox since le current cluster was made by another company a long time ago when I was not in this company.

I'm thinking to buy 3 of this:
- HPE ProLiant DL380 Gen10 4214R 1P 32 GB-R P408i-a NC 8 SFF 800 W (https://buy.hpe.com/it/it/servers/p...r-p408i-a-nc-8sff-800w-ps-server/p/P24842-B21)
this server has:
Intel® Xeon® Silver 4214R
32 GB RAM
4x ethernet NIC 1GB
no storage

- another 32 GB of RAM for each server
- 2 X 1TB SSD for each server for ceph storage
- 1 X 500 GB SSD for each server for proxmox and linux installation
- 1 X network card 10 GB with 2 NIC for each server

For the CEPH network,
I'm thinking to make a full mesh network with RSTP configuration,
and to connect each 10GB NIC of a server to the other 2 servers.

I will use the 4x1GB ethernet NICs of each server to connect them to the current network for the normal access from the users.

In the cluster there will be 4 VM (but the number will increase in the future and I know, I will need to update all these windows OLD instances...):
- 1x windows 2012 terminal server (VM1)
- 1x windows 2008 database server (VM2)
- 1x windows 2008 for an old lotus domino instance not used anymore but that we need to keep (VM3)
- 1x windows 2012 web server for our ecommerce website (VM4)

I would like to balance the VM on the different nodes,
so I will put the VM1 in the node 1, the VM2 on the node 2, and the VM3 and VM4 on the node 3

The backup will be managed by a separate Proxmox Backup Server in a separate machine (I'm thinking to use one of the servers of the current proxmox cluster that I will wipe and install the Proxmox Backup Server)

Can I please ask you a couple of questions?