[SOLVED] New install Shell and vm issue

Phiggles

Sep 6, 2024
Hi all, I am totally new to Linux and all the commands so is a huge learning curve. I planned on installing Proxmox on bare metal then having my original windows 11 in a vm.
This leads me to where I am currently.

Installed Proxmox 8.2 via usb iso
- upon logging in had subscription error
- just trying random stuff ( shell button) and it comes up with an error - "TASK ERROR: command '/usr/bin/termproxy 5900 --path /nodes/pve --perm Sys.Console -- /bin/login -f root' failed: exit code 1"

No idea what this means or where to look. I then proceeded to install a windows 11 vm, had the install iso and virto drivers, started the vm but when I double click it the 'No VNC window' opens and shows "failed to connect to server".

I have no idea where to even start to get either of these working.

Please can I have some assistance/guidance. instructions will have to be guided if you could please.

Thanks

Phil

Hello!

Once you have installed ProxMox it is quite normal to have a warning about your subscription! As long as you do not buy a paid subscription you will systematically have this warning when logging in! But do not worry it is 100% normal!

Then in order for you to be able to update your proxmox, you must change the repos on pve-no-subscriptions.

First of all in the menu you must select your PVE-Entreprise line and deactivate it!

Then you must do "Add" and add the "no-subscriptions" repo

And then you can do a refresh so that it updates the repos and offers you the available updates of ProxMox!

Look at the attached screenshot

Attachments

• ProxMox PVE SUBSCRIPTION.png
    ProxMox PVE SUBSCRIPTION.png
    124.5 KB · Views: 3
Hi, thank you, I added the 'no subscription' and disable the 'subscription'.

The console (shell) from the main menu should be working? I am logged in as root but the it fails to load - is this normal? This is where a user could be able to type commands and execute....?