New Install - Ethernet network not visible

Rave

Aug 5, 2024
Hi,
I am new to Proxmox and have been waiting and learning about it for a few days now. Today I finally got to try it on a new MiniPC (n100).
However, during the install process the ethernet does not show up for management, I can only see the wifi.
I spent the last 6 hours trying different solutions online but I could not solve the issue.
From what I understand, my Network card is the problem, Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI express
I tried setting things up via wifi but I could not connect to the internet that way either.
Using Unbuntu on a USB I am able to connect to wifi, but the network card does not show up there either.
I know the ethernet card is working, because in Bios when activated, I do see a wired connection on my router.
I was under the impression that the 8168 issue has been resolved with the latest proxmox. I don;t know what to do?

Attachments

• interfaces.jpg
    interfaces.jpg
    271.3 KB · Views: 18
  • grep.jpg
    grep.jpg
    394.3 KB · Views: 16
  • LSPCI.jpg
    LSPCI.jpg
    471.1 KB · Views: 17
  • Install-page.jpg
    Install-page.jpg
    793.4 KB · Views: 18
It shows the Realtek pci card.

Attachments

• IMG_2013.jpeg
    IMG_2013.jpeg
    790.2 KB · Views: 16
I read that thread, but without internet connection, I cannot run the apt updates and other commands. Kinda stuck.

No, I think I will get one tomorrow and try. Do you think that will show up? and then I can run the commands?

Just another thought; I've never done it before but maybe you could try with USB tethering to a phone, something like this?

I'm reading this thread and one of the suggestions is to copy the files from "latest driver" src to /usr/src/r8168-8.053.00
and then run some commands.
The problem is I do not know how to copy over that folder. I used 7-zip to access the src folder but how do I pass it on to the MIni PC? USB?

I believe you mean this post.