[SOLVED] Networking Troubleshooting help

papantou

May 10, 2024
Hello all,

first of all I want to say what a great product Proxmox is. I'm new to the homelab scene and it really is a big help!

So, I have bought a small server just to setup different VMs and play around a bit and I want the VM network and my home network to be separate and the former only accessible from the latter through a vpn configuration (I know its more complicated than it needs to be but I see this as a learning experience cause I hate networking and I want to face my fears). My server only has one physical NIC. I have installed pfsense on my machine and created 2 linux bridges on proxmox (vmbr0 that has bridged ports with the physical nic in order to function as a wan interface for pfsense and vmbr1 in which I left all the options blank during creation). All of the VMs in the lan side of pfsense have access to the internet and work seemingly correctly network-wise. I also set up the openvpn server in pfsense (with a tunnel network and everything) but my computer (which is in the home network) cannot establish a connection though the OpenVpn Connect application.
One other thing I should mention is that when I created an inbound firewall rule on my personal computer (windows 11) to allow everything, I could ping my computer from a linux VM in proxmox but not the opposite. I am positive that I'm doing something wrong :) but I can't pinpoint the problem (wrong proxmox, pfsense or pc firewall configuration).

Some relevant information:

Home PC IP: (dhcp)192.168.2.2
Proxmox IP: (static)192.168.2.10
Pfsense WAN: (dhcp) 192.168.2.11
Pfsense LAN: (static) 10.0.33.1
OpenVPN tunne network: (configured in pfsense) 10.0.34.0

Proxmox Network Interfaces
NameTypeActiveAutostartVLAN awarePorts/SlavesCIDRGateway
enp6s0Network DeviceYesNoNo
vmbr0Linux BridgeYesYesNoenp6s0192.168.2.10/24192.168.2.1
vmbr1Linux BridgeYesYesNo

I'd really appreciate any help or nudge in the right direction.
Thank you!