[SOLVED] Network issue - Help

curiouscase

Jul 20, 2024
I will start by mentioning a few things. I have no experience with networking, servers, etc. but just started doing a few things as a hobby. Also, I have no clue on how to use Linux/Debian as I have always used Windows.
Reading things on Reddit pushed me to use an old HP desktop I had as a Proxmox VE machine. I successfully set up a few different VMs and also started using dockers on one of them. Everything was working well.
This morning I started setting up NetAlertX using a docker. It was up but the eth0 was not displaying anything so based on what I read online I enabled a passthrough for PCI ethernet port for the VM on which docker was running. I rebooted my Proxmox machine and I was not able to get the proxmox web interface back up. It showed "This site can’t be reached" I went back to my PC and connected a monitor to it to see if there was any issue with booting. The system is booting fine but it seems it is not connecting to the internet. I searched solutions and I saw someone mentioned to check if internet was enabled using systemctl is-enabled networking. I tried that and it was showing enabled. I rebooted my system and then as the system just booted I tried connecting to the proxmox interface page using the browser. For a brief second, I was greeted by the page saying that it was unsafe to proceed yada yada but when I proceeded it again went to show "This site can’t be reached".

I did try the networking interface details and they do look fine:
interface.jpg

I also read some threads to check the network using commands like ip a and nmap. I am attaching the results here though I do not know how to interpret them.
ip a.jpg

nmap.jpg
I also generated a journal.txt file using journalctl -b > journal.txt but as I do not much about these terminal commands, I do not know how to copy that file from my proxmox system to a USB to post here.