Multiple Management IPs and VLAN segregation to VMs

gelcom

Mar 18, 2021
Hi all, sorry for the NOOB question as this is my first attempt to run ProxMox.

I have a machine with multiple NICs. What I want to accomplish is to have 2 NICs for management but with different management IPs and different subnets on each one and 1 NIC with VLAN aware with each VLAN allocated to a single VM as follows:

NIC 1 - ProxMox Mgmt IP - 192.168.100.1/24 - No VMs
NIC 2 - ProxMox Mgmt IP - 192.168.200.1/24 - No VMs
NIC 3 - No management or access to ProxMox server. Alocate to VMs with VLANs - VLAN 100 to VM 100, VLAN 101 to VM 101, and so on

Any help is appreciated!

kind regards

Why two mgmt ipv4? What are you trying to solve?

NIC3 - read documentation about bridges.

Why two mgmt ipv4? What are you trying to solve?

NIC3 - read documentation about bridges.

one mgmt ipv4 will be used behind a firewall for ordinary use and the other will be used with a direct connection from a specific local computer for contingency use. If firewall goes down I can access proxmox mgmt directly from this trusted computer on this different and safe subnet.

Like already mentioned, read about bridges. :)
Check the box "vlan aware", enter a vlan tag id when creating a VM and you're good to go.

And the two subnets can easily be configured via the GUI for the two NICs.

Or do you have a specific question?

Regarding the bridges I’m ok. Documentation covers that ok.

regarding the two different management IPs in different subnets I found no online info about it. If you can point me to right direction I really appreciate.

NIC 1 - ProxMox Mgmt IP192.168.100.1/24
NIC 2 - ProxMox Mgmt IP - 192.168.200.1/24

kind regards

Just add the ip to the bridge or to the interface you want?

You can for example create either an additional bridge in the right vlan or an additional interface in the right vlan. I would prefer the interface only. For example eth0.200 and the address you want.