Moving Large VM's Between Hosts - Too Big to Backup

JakeBikeIT

Jul 25, 2023
Hi All,

I have two hosts (not three for a cluster)
One of the machines has a data repository of 20TB -
I need to move this machine to host with larger storage and without a problem with the iLO ...doh..

I have successfully done this with a cluster - but because I only had two nodes I was then unable to clear up the mess.

What is the accepted and trackable method of moving the data to the new host please?

So...you have 20 TB of data that isn't backed up. I guess it isn't very important. You could just throw it away.
Very good - but not particularly helpful.

I am an engineer of long experience and standing believe it or not.

Not backing up that data - is not my decision.

I am required to move the VM from a machine with a minor board fault.

If you need it 1 to 1 I would do a vzdump to your new host and then restore it. Since youve got no space left you would need to mount NFS/CIFS to you old host to set the dump filepath.

If you just need the data, I would create a fresh VM on the new host with everything set up and then simply rsync/robocopy the data

So...you have 20 TB of data that isn't backed up. I guess it isn't very important. You could just throw it away.

Horrible people on this forum. :D

Do you get indication of progress please?

You kind of do, but the feature is considered experimental [1] still by the man page (or "technology preview"). You see output in another thread [2] (NB I do not know what was wrong for the OP there).

And what do you care about progress, watch du -s . on the target?

Are these ZFS pools? You can use zfs send / receive to get that across nicely.

[1] https://pve.proxmox.com/pve-docs/qm.1.html
[2] https://forum.proxmox.com/threads/qm-remote-migrate-error.133741/

Horrible people on this forum. :D