Migrating Windows XP guest - VM does not boot

gustavo

Mar 19, 2012
Hello to all,

I am a newbie to virtualization, and found Proxmox solution. So i installed and give it a try.

The installed PVE is :

Proxmox Virtual Environment
Version 2.0-27/8d4f53a0

Problem description:

I want to migrate an existing physical Windows XP machine to pve. So, i started to follow the wiki howto.
I am able to create a new VM, and migrate the disk image into the Proxmox server.
When I try to boot the VM, I get an OK message in the log.
I open the console, and the boot process stops at "Booting from Disk" message.
The CPU usage for that VM stays at 100%, all the time. I end up shutting down the VM.
Bellow I enumerate all the steps taken to do the migration. so far with no sucess.

The physical server is Windows XP Professional SP3, on a NTFS formatted partition.

Steps tested so far:

So far, I have tried these steps from the Wiki:
  1. How to migrate directly from a Windows physical machine to a VM raw file using SSH
  2. Physical (running) server to Proxmox VE (KVM) using SelfImage
  3. VMware to Proxmox VE (KVM)

All VMs where created using the Proxmox web interface.
For all steps I have done the mergeide step, and created a partition slightly bigger than the physical disk.
All migration steps concluded sucessfully (no errors whatsoever)
For steps 2 and 3, being a live process, I have turned off antivirus. But yes, i know it is a "static" file copy.
For step 3 I have tried running the resulting VMDK file in VMWare Player, and it went without problems, I could boot the machine.

Could this by an incompatibility in the migrated file?
How do i mount the qcow2 file in Proxmox shell and check if the files are OK?

I appreciate any help you might have regarding this issue, as I am stuck.
Any output you might wish from my installation I will gladly post here.

Thank You very much,
Best Regards,

Gustavo

Last edited:
[UPDATE]