Migrating to PVE from overkill linux-ha cluster - HW spec / storage question

ovis

Nov 23, 2020
Hi everybody,

first off, please don't kill me, I am new to PVE in productive environments, coming from the network engineering side - physical servers are not my strong suit, but trying to advise boss on how to proceed. I just need to come up with an approximate budget and who to ask for a server overhaul and would appreciate your two cents in terms of what makes most sense.

So current lay of the land: small-business cluster server setup, virtualized database POS backend on centos, windows 2012 for AD control and SQL server

- two physical servers with elderly Xeons, 8 GByte mem each (I think), and a 2TByte hw RAID of sorts each
- each running elderly CentOS, clustered using Heartbeat, drbd, fencing through iLO, and lots of legacy scripts
- two KVM machines:
-- 1: ancient CentOS with a low-load db server (intersystems cache) used for a tiny number of POS terminals (will be updated eventually)
-- 2: Windows Server 2012 as AD primary for a (very) small domain with ~10 clients, SQL Server 2014 as backend for another industry-specific software, and a couple of other processes (will be updated eventually too)

- backup currently through SEP onto two NAS boxes, and on VM filesystem level into a S3 bucket

The VMs have very moderate CPU and mem usage and storage when I look at them (i.e. the current six year old setup is still overkill), but uptime is critical for business continuance.

Personally, not sure if a clustered approach is even beneficial for this use case (ie how much can be gained in terms of uptime), as long as server-grade hardware and hardware / storage redundancy are used.

Would you go the PVE cluster route or just setup a single server with some level of storage pool redundancy?
3 or more nodes would be required for this to make any sense, right? Is Ceph pure overkill for this?

Thanks a lot, appreciate your input.