Maturity of PCI passthrough

patpro

Jan 22, 2018
www.patpro.net
Hello,

Disclaimer: this is my first post, and I have absolutely no experience with Proxmox. I'm also a senior sysadmin with very strong skills on VMware Vsphere 5/6.

At home I've built a multihead workstation based on ESXi 5.x. It allows me to run Windows, OSX, Linux, FreeBSD, etc. at the same time on a unique PC with very good performances. I'm using PCI passthrough to give Windows and OSX a dédicated GPU, a dedicated USB controller. I'm also passing-through the Realtek HD sound controller to the Windows VM. Thanks to a small "USB sharing squid", I can press a button to transfer keyboard/mouse/yubikey/etc. from Windows to OSX VM, and from the display I can choose HDMI (Windows) or Display Port (OSX) to get the display of the desired VM on screen. It works really great and I can use my Adobe CS5 and games on the Mac VM or other games on the Windows VM with native performances.
Everything is described here: patpro.net/blog/index.php/tag/virtualisation

Unfortunately, I'm stuck. I can't evolve anymore: I can't use modern OSX on ESXi 5.x, and when I'm trying ESXi 6.x I'm facing problems with the VMware pseudo VGA (removing it yields to a non-bootable VM). So I'm looking for a serious way out of VMware.

Proxmox sounds promising, but I'm afraid its PCI passthrough would be quite limited and/or complicated compared to what I've got on VMware. Of course, it allows NVidia consumers GPU (won't work with VMware at all), but I would feel reassured if I could for sure passthrough my current hardware: MSI Radeon R9 270X GAMING 2G and ATI Radeon HD 5770 Mac Edition.
Also, I would like to know if passthrough is stable on Proxmox, because the PC run's 24/7, and the average uptime for those workstation VMs is around 30 days.

Any hint appreciated.

I recently starting using Proxmox after testing ESXi first.

I needed to run a win7 server and pass through a dvb-s2 card.