Low Fsync/Sec (Win Server 16 VM bad performance)

nasarhon

Oct 15, 2018
Hi guys,
I am quite new to the virtualization world. So the starter for the problem is that my Windows Server 2016 guest is guite slow.

The physical machine is a i7 7700 and it has 16 GB RAM. I have two vm one of them is a Win 7 (4 GB ram assigned) where I have no problem, the other one is the Windows Server 2016 (8 GB ram assigned there). The Proxmox PVE and the two guest are also located on the same harddisk, which is a Seagate Barracuda 2 TB 7200rpm disk.

So the Win Server is slow but I did not see any problem with the CPU usage or the RAM usage. I did the reading for the last couple of days, and here is my average "pveperf" when both vm are running:

root@host:~# pveperf
CPU BOGOMIPS: 54528.00
REGEX/SECOND: 3586561
HD SIZE: 93.99 GB (/dev/mapper/pve-root)
BUFFERED READS: 181.66 MB/sec
AVERAGE SEEK TIME: 10.09 ms
FSYNCS/SECOND: 40.47
DNS EXT: 94.94 ms
DNS INT: 51.27 ms (...)

root@host:~# pveperf
CPU BOGOMIPS: 54528.00
REGEX/SECOND: 3835356
HD SIZE: 93.99 GB (/dev/mapper/pve-root)
BUFFERED READS: 146.65 MB/sec
AVERAGE SEEK TIME: 10.78 ms
FSYNCS/SECOND: 35.63
DNS EXT: 118.02 ms
DNS INT: 56.48 ms (...)

I guess my biggest problem has to be the FSYNCS/SEC. So I tried couple of helpful tricks: without cache and write back also, none of them has changed the results.

Can someone guide me a bit, where to go from here?

Thank you in advance!

are you running zfs?

No I don't, I did not do any special config for the drive controller, so everything is standard. But that is another question in me: is it beneficial to run zfs for such a bacis setup, and if it is, is it possible to configure after everthing is set up or is it too late so to say? is there any guide/tutorial for that?