Looking for best approach to a Proxmox home server.

pexerker

Apr 17, 2024
Hello All!
I am new to proxmox and i am looking some ideas, advices abt what or how could be done at the best or simplest or interesting way and with less resource as possible.
Im running my headless linux home server for 12 years now, experimenting a lot, therefore im fairly confident what my needs are.

Current situation - What i am using so far- running currently on Athlon 64 X2 5200B / 8gb ddr2
  • plex, transmission, pihole, smb sharing, github clone rep, usb webcam stream, private teamspeak server
  • Remote access: plex, transm, ssh, https for webcam, TS.
The design contains 3 drives​
  • A: 1x250: system, apps,home drives, git rep
  • B: 1x250: tor, download, TS internal file share, (this is the drive which simply replaced if breaks, no constant or important data)
  • C: 1x1TB: SMB file share (data moved here from B), plex db

Future plan :
The basic HW remains unchanged. Possible upgrade to AMD R5 2400G/16g DDR4 platform.
What i do not use, but want to:
some really lightweight de (probably xfce), restricted sftp service, bittorrent sync (for backup), some more cameras (possibly via zoneminder)

The idea so far is similar:
drive A: "system" proxmox system with all apps in VMs + CTs (TS; Plex; Pi-hole; git; webcam; torr, debian or/and ubuntu VM)
drive B: "temp storage" shared space for all the apps to use & temp storage for downloads, (this is the drive which simply replaced if breaks, no constant or important data)
drive C: "fileshare" shared data storage, accessible for every CT&VM internally. SMB, sftp, (contents would be all kind of data incl webcam files)
The system should allow me to add more hard drives, expansion cards (eg: sas, usb, nic)

Im unsure its all complete, but id be happy if any response comes to it :)

Last edited:
The basic HW: Athlon 64 X2 5200B / 8gb ddr2