Local storage reporting is way wrong

Feb 5, 2022
Hello,

I am rather new to proxmox 8. Have used a few years ago 6 & 7.
I have a "strange issue". I have just installed a new 8.2 server and used 2x 256GB in mirror.

1) My "local" & "local-zfs" BOTH reports almost 250GB.
2) My "local" has a total of 4.5GB in backups & ISOs
3) My "local-zfs" has a total of 51,5GB worth of vdisks but reports only 2,79GB in use.
4) My ZFS "rpool" reports a total of 253GB out of which 9,25GB are allocated.

So either there is something wrong with reporting, or I am doing the wrong interpretation here.

Can anybody provide a link or something so that I can clear things out?

Last edited:
Mind sharing the output of zfs list inside of [code][/code] tags?

Mind sharing the output of zfs list inside of [code][/code] tags?
Of course......

Code:
NAME                       USED  AVAIL  REFER  MOUNTPOINT
rpool                     8.61G   220G   104K  /rpool
rpool/ROOT                2.07G   220G    96K  /rpool/ROOT
rpool/ROOT/pve-1          2.07G   220G  2.07G  /
rpool/data                2.60G   220G    96K  /rpool/data
rpool/data/vm-100-disk-0  2.01G   220G  2.01G  -
rpool/data/vm-101-disk-0    56K   220G    56K  -
rpool/data/vm-101-disk-1   599M   220G   599M  -
rpool/var-lib-vz          3.94G   220G  3.94G  /var/lib/vz

Its one of things I did first..... seems to be like there is some sort of sharing cause otherwise it makes no sense.

Last edited:
please edit it and place the output inside of [code][/code] or use the formatting buttons of the editor (Code), as otherwise the output is barely readable :)

Done that already..... just refresh
timing ;)

1) My "local" & "local-zfs" BOTH reports almost 250GB.
What you can see is that each dataset in a ZFS pool shares the free space (AVAIL), unless you make reservations.
Therefore, for each storage, the total space is usually calculated by currently used + free.

2) My "local" has a total of 4.5GB in backups & ISOs