[SOLVED] Local storage all of a sudden nearly full.

lpj608

Jul 21, 2024
Hi All,

I'm fairly new to Proxmox, so hopefully I will be able to get my issue across clearly.

Background: I have one GKMtek G3 setup running PVE. This is all installed on the internal NVMe 256GB SSD. I have a few containers set up and running smoothly, and I’ve mounted some shared folders from my NAS to allow downloaded files from a torrent client to save directly onto the NAS. This has all been working perfectly.

Yesterday, I installed an extra 250GB M.2 SATA SSD into the G3, as it has a spare slot. The idea is to store all of the downloaded torrent files on this SSD, rather than the NAS, as having it downloading and seeding from the NAS was preventing it from ever hibernating.

I was able to get the SSD mounted into the Node and passed through to the container fine. This all seemed to be working well.

I then proceeded to copy the seeding files from the NAS to the new SSD to redirect the torrent client to find them there and stop it from constantly accessing the NAS. This also seemed to work perfectly, but this is where the issue started.

After checking the Proxmox GUI, I could see the new storage and the increase in usage as I had transferred the files, but the total space was not 256GB; it was only 72GB. Thinking this was strange, I decided to reboot the node to see if it changed. Surprisingly, it did—the capacity increased to the correct 256GB. However, at the same time, all of the files I had just copied over from the NAS were removed.

I then realized that the Local storage seemed to have increased in size at the exact same time as when I was transferring these files but has never gone back down, and I cannot find where they could be stored.

Pics of the two storage graphs are here:

SSD Storage -

https://photos.app.goo.gl/GkQUHMSoXwWSfcF19

Local Storage -

https://photos.app.goo.gl/7Agkuy8vgWztEFsc7