Joining the cluster, lvm-thin is lost

tdyun

Apr 17, 2024
I just joined a cluster server and something bad happened. The lvm-thin storage on the node is missing and I can't see any information in the web interface. I looked up a lot of cases and re-added the storage---lvmthin in the data center, but it didn't work, it's still missing. How can I get this thinpool back? It's in production and has VMs running. Sorry I'm new to this

root@pve:~# lsblk
NAME MAJ:MIN RM SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINTS
nvme0n1 259:0 0 3.6T 0 disk
├─nvme0n1p1 259:1 0 1007K 0 part
├─nvme0n1p2 259:2 0 1G 0 part /boot/efi
└─nvme0n1p3 259:3 0 3.6T 0 part
├─pve-swap 253:0 0 8G 0 lvm [SWAP]
├─pve-root 253:1 0 97G 0 lvm /
└─pve-data 253:2 0 3.5T 0 lvm /mnt/data
root@pve:~# pvs
PV VG Fmt Attr PSize PFree
/dev/nvme0n1p3 pve lvm2 a-- <3.64t 0
root@HYTRON-HK-TGTHKDC2-3-SERVER-14:~# vgs
VG #PV #LV #SN Attr VSize VFree
pve 1 3 0 wz--n- <3.64t 0
root@pve:~# lvs
LV VG Attr LSize Pool Origin Data% Meta% Move Log Cpy%Sync Convert
data pve -wi-ao---- <3.54t
root pve -wi-ao---- 97.00g
swap pve -wi-ao---- 8.00g
root@pve:~#

Last edited:
It's in production and has VMs running.
Also see the part of the manual that mentions to only join EMPTY nodes:
https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Cluster_Manager#pvecm_join_node_to_cluster said:
All existing configuration in /etc/pve is overwritten when joining a cluster. In particular, a joining node cannot hold any guests, since guest IDs could otherwise conflict, and the node will inherit the cluster’s storage configuration. To join a node with existing guest, as a workaround, you can create a backup of each guest (using vzdump) and restore it under a different ID after joining. If the node’s storage layout differs, you will need to re-add the node’s storages, and adapt each storage’s node restriction to reflect on which nodes the storage is actually available.

About