ISCSI/LVM question

tkintenn

Renowned Member
Jan 23, 2015
I've been playing with proxmox and absolutely love it.

If we goto production with it I am curious how others are setting up their storage. I started out creating seperate iSCSI disks on my nas, Prod, Test, Report and attaching those to proxmox. There were each designated for individual vm's. That worked ok and was extremely fast. Then read through the forums that some of my misgivings about this setup would be resolved by creating LVM's over top of the iscsi targets. Then reading the forums again i found i could easily resize my lvms using pvresize.

How are others utilizing this? Is there a problem with multiple iscsi connections to a pm ve server? The disadvantage I didn't like about multiple iscsi disks was the chance of high network usage causing latency from what could be 4 open connections to the nas. Oh yeah, I'm new to iSCSI so i'm still learning about that as well. NFS failed quite a bit so I didn't try to use it all as iSCSI worked great from the get go.

Just looking to get a feel for how others setup storage and what they like and dislike. Thanks.

So I've discovered something new, that's probably in a manual somewhere. You don't seem to be able to create multiple LVM's on one iSCSI, atleast the web interface is stopping me. interesting.

So I've discovered something new, that's probably in a manual somewhere. You don't seem to be able to create multiple LVM's on one iSCSI, atleast the web interface is stopping me. interesting.

afaik, LVM over ISCSI works like you setup one big ISCSI LUN, then connect that on pve as iscsi storage
then create a LVM storage over that iscsi storage.

then you create VMs of whatever disk size and set the LVM storage to hold them
pve creates a LV for each disk automatically.

This is what I use most, but don't support "point in time" snapshot. for that you need qcow2 disks and so NFS or other filsystem storages (not ISCSI).

hth
Marco