How to Pin a Machine to Proxmox 8.1 (or Any Previous Version)?

Sep 1, 2022
Hello,

I have a node running PVE 8.1, and it uses a DKMS module for Intel iGPU experimental support. That module isn't supported in Kernel 6.8. Likewise, I'd like to experiment with an actual NVIDIA GRID/vGPU setup on another node, and my understanding is that might be troublesome in 6.8 as well, at least for now.

Is there a way to pin an entire Proxmox install on a node to the latest version of Proxmox 8.1 with the latest 6.5.x kernel in the enterprise repo? (I have a subscription). I'd want to be able to run apt dist-upgrade and get the latest version of all the packages available to 8.1.

I know I could just boot into the older kernel in 8.2 and try doing that, but it seems like a recipe for instability and unpredictability. I don't mind staying on 8.1 on nodes that need it until third party support catches up. :)

Thanks!

Reactions: ikarlo
Hello,

I have a node running PVE 8.1, and it uses a DKMS module for Intel iGPU experimental support. That module isn't supported in Kernel 6.8. Likewise, I'd like to experiment with an actual NVIDIA GRID/vGPU setup on another node, and my understanding is that might be troublesome in 6.8 as well, at least for now.

Is there a way to pin an entire Proxmox install on a node to the latest version of Proxmox 8.1 with the latest 6.5.x kernel in the enterprise repo? (I have a subscription). I'd want to be able to run apt dist-upgrade and get the latest version of all the packages available to 8.1.

I know I could just boot into the older kernel in 8.2 and try doing that, but it seems like a recipe for instability and unpredictability. I don't mind staying on 8.1 on nodes that need it until third party support catches up. :)

Thanks!
Did you ever figure this out? I also have a dkms module and would like to be pinned to a specific version and specific kernel version until I can safely upgrade.