How do I export .raw file from a ceph

JBE

Nov 15, 2019
Hello,
I am a noob to Proxmox and am still learning how to use it, so please be kind to me.

I have been trying to export a .raw file out of my PVE which has three nodes and storage is held on a Ceph. I know about performing the backup which works fine. However, I can only get a .VMA fie after extracting the LZOP compression outside of Proxmox. From what I can gather, I can only extract the .vma file in my PVE to get the .raw I need and as far as I know this cannot be done outside of the ProxMox environment. When using PVESM to list my VMs I can see the VM I want to take off my PVE. which is in .raw format. However, I am not sure how I can do it. I have tried this command to try and SSH it off to a Windows server using this command: "dd if=/etc/pve/ceph/dev/pve/vm-118-disk-1 | ssh USERNAME@MACHINE -- dd of=image.raw" However, ProxMox not finding the path. I'm guessing that its because the VM is on the ceph? rather than /var/images/ ?

I thought that trying to export the .raw file rather than trying to extract from the backup would be easier, but due to these issues am unable to get the .raw from the .vma outside of ProxMox but trying to work out a way of getting the .raw file from ProxMox just as difficult, feels like I've been going round in circles.

I am now thinking can this be done by using the RBD command? I am probably barking up the wrong tree totally with this.

Is there a way to get an exported .raw file out of my PVE while the VMs are all held on the ceph? I've drawn a blank so far.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Hi,
you should be able to do it with
Code:
rbd --pool <poolname> export vm-118-disk-1 <filename>

Hi Fabian,
Thank you very much for this. An extra question is there a way to specify where I can export the VM? - is it just a case of putting the correct path in from of the file name?

Hi Fabian,