Host cannot reach internet after router restart

yander

Aug 3, 2024
I'm new to Proxmox and Linux, so I don't really know what I'm supposed to do here. I read about changing /etc/network/interfaces and /etc/hosts but I don't know what I am supposed to change or what im supposed to change it to. I can't ping 8.8.8.8 and I can't connect to web interface via shown IP.

Let's start with some basics then:

On your PC, open a commandprompt, type in ipconfig (or terminal and command ifconfig -a if on mac or on linux it's probably ip a )and check if the first 3 number of the IP you have on there match what you have on the screen.

If it is the same, try pinging the IP shown on the screen, does that get a reply from that IP or not?
If it is not the same, or you don't get a reply to the above pings, log into your proxmox and type in the following commands, then make and post a photo of it:
Code:
ip a
cat /etc/network/interfaces

Tried pinging. it doesn't get a reply.
I ran the commands.
Here ip a
IMG_20240803_200243.jpg
Here cat /etc/network/interfaces
IMG_20240803_200314.jpg

So, there are a couple of things I notice that I find quite odd:
You reference a bridge-port enp3s0, but that iface is not in the file further, just an eno1 that you don't use.
Both the eno1 and the enp3s0 are not in your interface-devices list (ip a).
In your ip a there are a couple of numbers missing/skipped, especially 2 and 3 are of note, as those could be there the eno1 and/or enp3s0 could be.

I also see some tap-devices that I'm guessing are from VM's or containers you've set up?
For those VMs, did you set up auto-start and PCI(e) passthrough? Because it might be that you broke something there, blocking access to your host but (maybe) not the VM's running on it.

If yes on the auto-start, you might want to temporarily disable it and then reboot the system, seems if things start working.
For that first run ls -l /etc/pve/qemu-server/ to find all your VM-numbers (in case you don't know them)