Guidance: Installing second network and re-configuring Ceph

SAB

Dec 3, 2022
So ... I'm a bit of an amateur here but have recently created my first 5-node HA Proxmox cluster using Ceph storage (all nodes having one network interface). Everything is working quite well, I'm spawning ubuntu cloud-init configured VMs and about to try my hand at using terraform. However, the network isn't partially robust, and I thought I might alleviate some traffic congestion by configuring a second network to improve redundancy and allow Ceph to do its thing with less impact to the primary network.

I can add a second interface to each node, for which all nodes will report it as vmbr1. I'll then install a second switch and connect them all up via another interface on the main router / gateway.

Unfortunately, networking is my weakest area in IT, and I'm not sure how best go about adding a second network with regards to the proxmox host(s) and ceph configuration post-change, and although my set up isn't a production thing, I would probably "sigh" real hard if I destroyed it.

I've looked for a guide on this one, but can't seem to find one - so if anyone knew of one I'd be happy to be pointed in the right direction and I'll have a stab at figuring it out myself. Of course, if anyone considered this trivial stuff, I'd be happy to take your advice directly as well!

For the second network (the Ceph cluster network) you do not need an outside connection and in particular no default gateway (there can only be one).

Use the IP network you designated for this second network interface as Ceph cluster network in the configuration and Ceph should automatically use it.

For Proxmox you could create a second corosync ring over that network to improve cluster stability.

For Proxmox you could create a second corosync ring over that network to improve cluster stability.