Going back to windows 11 pro after 7 very good Proxmox years

jorge.rutllant

Aug 4, 2024
Dear all,

After about 7 years of using and enjoying Proxmox I reluctantly have decided to return to Windows 11 pro and Virtualbox. I know this is one of the most sacrilegious things to say in this community. I hope you take this post as encouragement to improve in what I consider a huge blind spot in Proxmox.

Let me explain, I am a retired IT manager from the Banking Industry and have a fair share of experience in what a “professional data center” should be. My hobby during the last years has been to play and build a decent home lab environment and for this Proxmox has been the anchor around my data center, it has been rock solid, incredible useful, very performant and simple to use. I think it is (by far) the best Hypervisor (paid or not).

Anybody with any experience in IT will know that one will not last for long without a clear and proven disaster recovery strategy. If things can fail they will and I got my share a couple of weeks ago when my main EXT4 nvme failed without any warning and got destroyed.

Over the years, to my surprise, searching in the Proxmox community forums (and of course googling all over the place) I find very little about this topic. I read things like “just use dd”, “just use ZFS”, “just reflash and redo your customizations”, “just backup /etc/” clearly a very amateurish approach to the problem. Anyway, searching and searching I arrived to a solution called “relax and recover” which is a Linux disaster recovery automation tool based in Bash. After weeks of reading and tweaking I got it working in Proxmox and tested it a couple of times, all fine.

But of course it failed when I needed it the most because of some incompatibilities in the updates Proxmox had done during these years, this is totally my fault for not being more careful reading lots and lots of logs, etc…